Mother in town – Ayshwarya Chari, founder of Kidore.

Most of you following me on Instagram know well that I am quite feminist and believe that we mothers are much more than we think we are. In celebration of the UAE’s Mother’s Day, I want to start my small project “Mother in town” in which I will be interviewing the successful mommies living in Dubai. I want to start with lovely Ayshwarya Chari, mom to 2 lovely kids, Atira and Vivaan. Entrepreneur, founder, and owner of Kidore and just a passionate woman stepping firm to bright future!

The reason I wanted to know more about Ayshwarya Chari is because I so much appreciate the e-commerce concept she came up with, where every item costs below AED 100 only. It’s called Kidore and we do use their arts and crafts products which are of amazing quality. I believe that Kidore is handy for every parent in town.

So, let the journey begin and we learn more about the successful mom living with us in the same city.

Ayshwarya_Portrait_03

1. Hi Ayshwarya, tell me about yourself.

Hi Nilufar,

I am Ayshwarya Chari, mom to 2 lovely kids, Atira who is 7 and Vivaan who is 3. They are the light of my life! Happy, hilarious kids who can always make me laugh with their antics.

I have been in the UAE for 13 years now, having moved here to be with my husband who is an investment banker.

Dubai is home to us, I don’t see us living as happily anywhere else. We love it here!

Like all moms, I am the compulsive multitasker. When I get a breather from kids/work/life, I love to read. I am a big believer in JOMO, often choosing to be home in bed with tea/coffee and a good book over being out.

2.How do you find Dubai as an expat mother?

Dubai is an expat mother’s dream! This country keeps my children safe, whilst giving them an opportunity to mingle with and learn from a cultural mix like no other. It is a land that believes nothing is impossible and embodies that every day in everything it does. What an amazing thing for kids to experience and learn every day. I feel fortunate to live here with my family.

  1. How long have you been working?

I started working when I was 22. I had a few breaks here and there when I moved to Dubai and in between jobs but I have mostly been working since then. From marine research to banking to e-commerce, it’s been a wild ride J

  1. What in your opinion is the difference between working women and working mothers (if worked before having children)?

I think they both have their own set of challenges. Women (moms or otherwise) have to prove their worth repeatedly in the workforce, have to work harder to get to the top and shatter glass ceilings. The only difference is that working moms have little puppet masters holding on to their heartstrings, tugging at them constantly.

  1. How do you manage to balance between work and family?

I always say I am blessed with a rock-solid support system. A spouse who builds me up every day, my in-laws who live with us and anchor the house/kids so I have the wings to work the way I need to, a lovely helper, friends around me who are like family. I can do what I do because of all these people who hold me up every single day.

Another thing I am consciously working on is to accept that balance doesn’t exist. Some days the kids need me more and some days Kidore needs me more. You make a choice every day, sometimes several times a day, and stick with it. I guess we need to know that we are doing the best we can and that is enough.

  1. How do you spend your weekends/holidays?

As I said, I am a big believer in JOMO (the joy of missing out). Weekends are for family. We hang out, have breakfast together, play games and just generally relax. Our holidays are also pretty much the same. We just wake up and decide what we want to do and when.

  1. How did you come up with the idea of Kidore?

Having been in E-commerce in this market for over 6 years now, I realized that there was a big gap in the market for a portal that would offer parents good quality products for their kids without breaking the bank with easy, hassle free service and a quality shopping experience.

It was an idea that took root and just wouldn’t go away. We decided to validate the concept with a survey. 150 parents participated in it and the results came out resoundingly in favor of launching Kidore so here we are.

  1. Do you see the trust of mothers on budgeted items (since the prices are below 100 AED)?

Yes, absolutely! People love and support the concept. Kidore has over 50 brands, some well known like Fischer-Price and some not as well known. But one thing they all have in common is quality. We do not compromise on quality.

I think there is a revolution now in the UAE in the way people think. The UAE consumer has realized that you don’t really have to pay steep prices for things that you need. You can have quality and variety on a budget.

This is what we are trying to drive home on Kidore. You can come online and find pretty much all you need for your child, items of stellar quality, without feeling ripped off in the process.

  1. Are you planning to have a physical store or prefer keeping it online?

We have no plans at the moment to take Kidore to a brick and mortar set up. E-commerce allows us to keep our overheads low so we are able to offer our customers the amazing prices we do.

  1. What is your vision/target about Kidore’s  future?

We want to strengthen our position in the UAE and expand into the G.C.C and beyond. We also intend to expand our catalogue offering more quality brands and products from different parts of the world.

  While we, of course, aim to see Kidore as a successful, established E-commerce player in the G.C.C, our success would lie in being able to say that we were the first online store in the region that made E-commerce accessible to everyone; not just a select, elite few. This is what we are working towards.

  1. Where do you see yourself after 10 years?

I can’t really think or plan that far ahead. The life I am sure would have thrown me many curve balls by then. All I can say (and possibly control) is that in 10 years I would like to be truly at peace and in touch with myself.

  1. If you had a chance, what would you change in your life?

Nothing. My life isn’t perfect but I love it with all of its crazy ups and downs. I have a lot to be grateful for.

  1. Your suggestion to all mothers.

We all need to be kinder to ourselves. All of us mothers. We give so much of ourselves away every single day and beat ourselves up over things we feel we did wrong or didn’t do enough of. We need to stop. We are doing the absolute best we can and that is enough.

  1. What is your opinion on mothers in the workforce?

At Kidore we are passionate about women in the workforce. We have an all women core team. These ladies all work flexible hours and have joined Kidore after having taken a career break to raise their children.

These women do more on any given day than most teams working ‘full time’ do. They are invested in Kidore, happy to go over and beyond on a daily basis.

I think businesses that don’t count the ‘mummy skills’ that women gain whilst raising their kids resume worthy, are missing out big time.

Thank you, Aishwarya for your time!

“My life isn’t perfect but I love it with all of its crazy ups and downs.” – Ayshwarya Chari.

How deep is the meaning of this sentence? Ayshwarya Chari truly is a wonderful mother with great values!

I am sure Kidore will be number one e-commerce choice of parents not only in the region but beyond too and wish all the best to Ayshwarya and you all, my lovely fellow mommies.

http://www.kidore.com/

Ayshwarya_Portrait_02

One thought on “Mother in town – Ayshwarya Chari, founder of Kidore.

Leave a Reply

